Butterfly Swords Review Round-Up

Guest blog: Forgot about that UK time difference thing. My Call story is up at the Pink Heart Society. Anyone curious about how it all happened. :)

***

Advance reviews are always coming out and, I confess, I hungrily search for them. I’m weak…

I never know whether to respond or not, but I liked Stacia Kane’s take on it. Good or bad, acknowledge the review and thank them for their time. It does take a lot of time and effort to read through the book and then to put your thoughts together coherently.

I’m making it my policy to not comment on reviews other than a nice thank you and I will not show up on any review sites to comment or reply. If you ever see me doing so, smack me upside the head and send me away. But I can acknowledge the reviewers here on my blog.

For Butterfly Swords:

Romantic Times
★★★★ Review
You need to be a subscriber to view this early. Otherwise it will be available in October.

Monkey Bear Reviews
A- Grade Review by Sarah

Sonoma Lass (x-posted on Dear Author)
A Grade Review by SonomaLass

The Romance Reviews
★★★★★ – Review by Carol

And various reviewers from GoodReads
Range: ★★★ – ★★★★★

For The Taming of Mei Lin:

The Season
9 stars out of 10 – Review by Katrina

Dear Author
B- Review by Jane

Various reviewers from Goodreads
Range: ★★★★ – ★★★★★

Thank you for everyone for reading and reviewing!

10 Comments

  1. Shelley Munro
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 13:35:29

    You’re rocking the reviews, Jeannie. Congrats :)

  2. Victoria Dixon
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 13:58:40

    The one day of the week when I’m normally so busy I can’t stop to breathe. Ironically, the last four days have been like that. Today is different, I guess. :) Wanted to drop in and say boo! LOVED Butterfly Swords but am most severly bummed I have to wait until October to get a hard copy. Sigh. Walked through Walmart’s book selection the other day and imagined Aili on the shelf. :D

  3. Jeannie Lin
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 14:06:56

    Thanks Shelley & Victoria! I’m jumping up and down and waiting for October myself.

  4. Stephanie Draven
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 21:11:42

    My only reading time is on the elliptical trainer right now, but I can take my kindle, so I read the Taming of Mei Lin instead! And I hope you’ll break your policy just long enough to chat with me about it, because I loved it!

  5. Jeannie Lin
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 07:20:25

    Stephanie – You’re a writing buddy. That’s way different. :) But thank you for the awesome review on Amazon!!

  6. Daz
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 15:06:32

    Jeanie, I grew up on Ancient Chinese kung fu shows (those Hong Kong TVB ones!), full of forbidden and unrequited love and lots of martials arts (back in the 80s you could even see the strings they were hanging from when flying through bamboo groves) so I’m very excited about reading your books. I’m hoping that it will bring back all sorts of memories for me. Looking forward to them. Already pre-ordered from Amazon.

  7. Daz
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 15:07:59

    Stephanie, is there a trick to reading on an elliptical trainer? I have so much trouble with that. All that bouncing up and down. How do you do it without getting dizzy and getting some serious reading done?

  8. Jeannie Lin
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 22:29:17

    Daz – That must mean you grew up on the golden age of the TVB like me. I can’t even watch the remakes of today because those classic versions were so close to my heart. I hope you enjoy the book.

  9. Daz
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 23:25:28

    Oh yes, definitely as you put it – the Golden Age of TVB. Anything done after the 90s was just shite. Fake, fake, fake. And the acting of those kids these days … ugh! Remember The Legend of the Condor Heroes with Wong Yat Wah and Yung Mei Ling? :-) So nice to come across someone who ACTUALLY knows what I’m talking about.

  10. Jeannie Lin
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 23:05:42

    Yung Mei Ling…she was the best! So pretty and charming and so sad that she died so young. Legend of the Condor Heroes is one of my favorites. If you recall, she fights with two very short blades in a few of the episodes! (It’s not an accident that my heroine’s name is Mei Lin)

Leave a Reply

*